The Santa Barbara County Psychological Association (SBCPA) includes approximately 150 licensed psychologists, registered psychological assistants, and student members within Santa Barbara County.


Our Santa Barbara County Psychological Association is administered by a volunteer Board of Directors and a group of committee chairs. The officers are elected by the general membership annually and are installed in office at an annual dinner meeting of the membership. The board meets on a monthly basis, and attendance is open to all SBCPA members.

Click here to view SBCPA Board Meeting agendas and minutes


Founded as a informal group in 1947, some Santa Barbara psychologists began to work within the community addressing local mental health problems and the broader spectrum of professional interests. In 1977 SBCPA became a chapter of the California Psychological Association (CPA), a state association of the American Psychological Association (APA). The APA is the national psychological association with over 159,000 psychologists, and SBCPA members follow the ethical standards and guidelines for professional practice set forth by APA.


2018 Board of Directors

Position Name Phone Number Email Address
President Dr. Betsy Bates Freed
President Elect Dr. Cecile Lyons
805-456-2858 drlyons@cecilelyonsphd.com
Past-President Dr. Laura Ciel 805-624-6704drlaura@drlauraciel.com
Secretary Dr. Christina Donaldson
Treasurer Dr. Eric Nelson 805-835-5389 ernelson@westmont.edu
Local Advocacy Network Chair
Dr. Dean Given 805-880-3566drg@sbbh.net
Student Representative Scott Young 805-252-8280 scott@thesimpleinvestment.com
Membership Committee Chair Dr. Hallie D'Agruma 413-551-9611drhdagruma@dagruma.com
Website Committee Chair Dr. James Fortman 805-451-1463 jfortman@antioch.edu
Social Committee Chair Dr. Angela Vigna805-585-8618drangelavigna@centralcoastdbt.com
Community and Media Relations Committee Chair Dr. David Botsford 949-214-9323 dave@iperformance.io
Ethics Committee Chair
Dr. Kimberley Taylor 805-969-0153 drkimtaylor805@gmail.com
Salon/Continuing Education Committee Chair Dr. Sandra Kenny805-722-0519 skenny@antioch.edu
Disaster Committee Chair Dr. Megan Donahue
805-886-8208 info@drmegandonahue.com

© 2012 SBCPA. Designed by POP
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software